This past year has been a pretty amazing year. One that has gone almost completely without documentation in my blog. With the next few posts, I’m going to try to alter that by taking a look back at the best parts of 2013.

____________________________________________________

Long distance friends. Having moved 20+ hours away from people that we’ve known and loved for the past ten years, I wondered if I would be able to maintain the friendships that I formed in West Chester, PA.

As ridiculous as it seems writing this, I do give a lot of credit to Facebook for making me feel connected with many of those people. Witnessing the big moments – and many of the not so big moments – of their lives. Since Facebook wasn’t around when we moved away from Dallas, there is a marked difference I my ability to keep up with work friends from QVC as compared to JCPenney.  Once I truly appreciated this, I went back and connected with many more Dallas friends as well.

Good friends

But Facebook isn’t a substitute for seeing friends face to face, and I am so grateful for getting to see our dear friends, Pam and Jed twice this past year. They were the first friends to make the trek to visit us here in NW Arkansas. And we were lucky enough to spend some time with them at the beach this fall.

A glimmering ocean

Morning sun on the grasses

Sun rising over the pond

Here’s to good friends. May we never take them for granted.

Canoeing on Salt Pond