How is it that I am in my 50’s and just learning how to clean a house? I admit it, I have been spoiled. I put in lots of hours at work, and was fortunate to have a spouse that was happy to stay home and take care of me… and of the house.

Now that I am not working, it’s time for me to step up and do my part. And, let’s face it, there are a few things I would like done better than before. Organization was not really my husband’s strong suit, for example.

But for now, I am trying to come to grips with what needs to be done to make our home comfortable, attractive, and livable. And to distinguish that from what makes it perfect and pristine.

The beginning of a new year seems like a good time to rethink my perspective on household chores. One of the best pieces of advice that I’ve run across is from Melissa, at The Inspired Room. She created Four Daily Routines for keeping her house “clean enough.”

How-to-clean-your-house

I love that concept. I don’t expect House Beautiful to be showing up at my door anytime soon. And I have typically had plenty of warning before dignitaries stop by. So on a regular basis I just need to focus on creating a clean, safe, comfortable and pleasant space for us.

The “routine” of Melissa’s that influenced me the most was: #2 Clean Sinks (but it ties in closely with #4 Nightly Kitchen Cleanup). It’s easy to understand that not having dishes stacked in your kitchen sink will have a big impact on how clean your house feels. But it is actually the wiping down and drying of your sinks that takes it over the top for me. Who knew? This is an easy task to do both in the kitchen and the bathroom every morning, and it makes me feel like I’m living in a show house! Well, almost. Anyway, the impact on me was pretty significant.

Creating that balance between an uncluttered and attractive home, and having the time to do the important things in life is the key. Here’s to a new year in good balance!

What’s your secret for manageable housekeeping?

Related Posts and Links:

Organizing Made Fun (15 minutes of cleaning)

The Stressed Mom (10 steps to clean your house fast)

Bright Nest (tips to make owning a home easier)

Life Hack (150 tips on cleaning anything)

