It’s been over a year since I started this blog.  It’s whizzed by faster than a Vespa in Florence (it must be time to get another dose of Tuscan life). 

True to my personality, I was quite ambitious about how frequently I wanted to contribute to my blog.  In august last year, I made 10 posts.  Some months since I’ve had to rush just to make one. 

Frequency isn’t important to me now.  But the mindset to mark life’s experience is.  I’ve been a little distracted at times this past year, and have not always stopped to savor and really experience the things around me.  That will be my goal this next year.

As I look back on the past year, several losses stand out.  In a conversation recently, I had told someone that we had been in Seattle more than usual this spring because of Mabel’s illness.  When asked if she was better, I paused, and realized that yes – she was better.  It’s those that are left behind that may still struggle, but I know that she is better.

Probably the good fortune of our year was Dylan coming into our lives.  He was a miracle dog right from the beginning.  Our lives have clearly changed for the better.  Stay tuned for what I intend to be the well documented 10 day road trip with Dylan coming up in September.

When I look back on my first post, and my self description in “About Me”, I have a good feeling about the past year.  If I were describing my self again, I probably wouldn’t start out writing about my professional life.  That in itself makes a strong statement about getting better balance in my life this past year.  My attitude towards work and aging have changed for the better.  I hope this next year will reveal progress in evolving to a well-balanced and appreciative state.

