It’s better to give than receive.  We all know this instinctually.  Then why can giving be so difficult at times?

I don’t mean charitable giving.  I’m really talking about the people you know and love the most.  Loved ones that we want to thrill in finding just the right gift…  by knowing them so well that you can predict their level of excitement for this gift.  But that often escapes me.

I could chalk that up to me being a terrible shopper.   Or to not being attentive enough to the wants and needs of others.  But in reality, I believe it is the current state of the world we live in.  We consume.  We buy what we want, when we want it.  It makes it very difficult to delight someone with a gift.

In the movie Enchanted April, one of the commoners said to a priviledged woman who arranged for her own comfort

It’s nice to know what you want.  But you shouldn’t deny someone the chance to do something nice for you.

