There are so many interesting place in the world that I want to experience.  pSome of them I’ve seen before and some not.  It’s quite a dilemma for me…  to return to places that I love, or to visit new places that I’ve never seen?

Not an uncommon quandary, I’m sure.  Some people probably struggle with the choice of visiting their favorite restaurant week after week versus trying something new.  For me, it’s the choice between spending more time in a place I love, or using the time to explore a new place entirely.

It would be sad to think I’d never return to Tuscany, for example.  Or to see the Alhambra again.  Yet, there are new place to see:  Buenos Aires, Kenya, Prague.

100_1339It reminds me of the feeling that I get in a wonderful bookstore…  There is so much to read.  So much to learn. So many worlds to escape to.  How will I ever get to it all?  Sometimes a bookstore can be overwhelming to me.

Louis Armstrong’s “Wonderful World” is an uplifting, grateful song to many.  The sobering part for me is:  “I hear babies crying, I watch them grow .  They’ll learn much more than I’ll ever know”.   I don’t want the next generation to know more than me.  I want to know it all.

But I digress.   I want to learn more.  I want to see more.  I want to travel more.  I want to experience more.  But I don’t want to give up the “known” things that I love.   I’m going to have to learn to live with that.